top of page

Hip Hop - Nu-Feel


Nu-Feel is different and I woke up . .a bit . .when I found his cuts in my soundcloud. Artist were starting to get lost in the shuffle . . I mean . .they're all good . .but why did I listen to this guy instead that guy? . . . .

So, . .one day I was looking through my soundcloud and found Nu-Feel. Now, Nu-Feel was signed to Universal-Mowtown and Def Jam . . .but what caught my eye or ear were the samples he used . . .The track that caught my attention was Ever Going. Now . . the first cut on his soundcloud, Live Another Day seems like an anthem for his album . . but my favorite track was Ever Going. A female folk singer starts singing . . and I'm thinking the tracks were messed up . .or the software had malfunctioned . . but no . .Nu-Feel appears and starts rapping and then this militaristic , yet chilled out beat comes in . . and . .before you know it . .you're in Nu-Feel wonderland . .listening to cool hip hop on our soundcloud. That's when I knew I really liked this guy. So . . .I checked out a few tracks . . .

Live Another day did pretty much the same thing - but without the female folk singer. You hear a folk guitar riff . .but then this militaristic beat comes in and then . . once again, you're in Nu-Feel wonderland. So, while listening to Live Another day . . a sound bite from Dave Chappelle comes in and . . .cool . .I like Dave so . .it was interesting hearing what he had to say about comedy . . .Richard Pryor . . .and just entertainment in general. What Nu-Feel is saying is another story . . but there is a certain motif to Nu-feel's lyrics that appears from song to song.

The video for Ever Going continues with this certain motif . . .but I'll explain later . .

Now, in RunAway . .while listening . .I'm thinking Nu-Feel is talking about this guy who screwed up while Nu-Feel made it big . .and the guy is still flopping around . . but . .no . . it's about his wife . .or a wife and possibly a woman who could have had it all . .yet flopped. So . . .I was wondering who the woman was and realized the motif came back to . .possibly haunt me or him . . .

In the video, Another Day, he's seen with what looks like a Caucasian hooker or prostitute . .but after examining the video a bit more . .he's seen with her on a beach . .and then the Taj Mahal . . so . .Nu-Feel is sport'n dollars . . but who was the girl or . .woman? Was she the subject in Run Away? Could she have made millions with Nu-Feel at some point in time?

After watching Ever Going (the video) I realized the motif came through with a swank SoHo crowd he chilled with at a dinner party. The woman we saw at the beach might have appeared in this video . .but she was with older and younger friends . .similar to herself.

So . . .I played my soundcloud one more time and heard a female folk singer . . .near the Taj Mahal having fun near a beach. The woman seemed like fun . .but was she as distant from Nu-Feel when I first listened to his tracks . .then after . . . understanding Richard Pryor and Dave Chappelle's feelings for her. I mean . . .we all had met Nu-Feel's folk guitar player, at one time or another . .but did she stay and make an impact in our lives, while growing older . .or did she vanish one day, like in Run Away . . .and lost millions from what we learned from future endeavors?

Nu-Feel remains to be a hip hop performer . .to me . . .but his roots in folk and 60's rock have made an impact in his style of playing beats. It's hip hop . .but it's also a new way of thinking about the future of music and hip hop. The sample can be anything . .but the beat remains the same . .or at least hip hop. I want hip hop in my music . .but I'm willing to experiment a little and try new things. I lived vicariously through Nu-Feel . .for 11 minutes and realized . . .his beats had Run Away with me . . .

(Click a title to watch a video . .)

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page