top of page

Hip Hop - Luvah


Ok . .I'm enjoying myself at a club called Red Lounge on 14th st. and Ust. . .where several rappers take the stage on Tuesdays and Wednesdays. Wednesdays are usually low in crowd volume . .down to about two couples in the back, one couple near the bar and me watching the show . . .but, oddly, about thirty people walked into the venue on this particular night. A female college looking student began dancing to the beat, in front of me. A group of young men sat near the bar and began laughing and drinking. Before I could ask what was going on . . .a femal rapper, named Luvah, took the stage. . and turned this sleepy little club out for about 20 minutes. Everyone began clapping and having fun. The beats were fat and the club was alive . .till Luvah said goodbye and thanks before leaving the stage. In about 10 or 15 minutes, I was, basically, sitting alone in the audience . . waiting for the next act to perform. The club was practically emty . . .and I had realized everyone who had crashed the scene was here to see Luvah. So . . .I woke up after her performance . .got in touch with a few people from the club . . .and found Luvah's soundcloud. I was able to locate this popular rapper from the Red Lounge and speak with her. She was cordial and very easy to get along with.

It turns out Luvah was a dancer on something called the Screen Tour and did a video for Tabi Bonnet, a few years back . .She had hurt her knee and decided to turn her attention to music instead of dance. She incorporated the muscial stylings of her cousin and began making beats on Pro-Tools in her basement. I was told one of her beats was purchased from a youtube on-line . .but the main theme of all her tracks focus on her cousin's programming skills and production. I listened to a few beats off her soundcloud - which can be found after googling LuvahALLWild . . .It's a professional sound that can translate into friendly radio programming most DJs probably wouldn't mind spinning. I had asked her where she recorded . .and she, of course mentioned her basement . . but also mentioned Fly Zone studios in Maryland. She wasn't sure where the location was and knew little about it. Upon further investigation . . .she had only been there a few days ago. Her jump from dance to music was abrupt. I mean. . .this is her first outing in the music world . .and already Luvah has created a following most reverbnation and soundcloud beginners would desire. How she tapped into the mainstream and grabbed an audience is over my head . . .but after speaking with her . . .I could see why people are attracted to her brand and why they'll flock to shows or tiny clubs in the business district to see her perform. If I had to bet on an up and coming performer . . .I would probably put money down on Luvah . . .I mean. .there are a few rappers on Azur Blogspot I can see rising to the top . . .but when it came to crowd control . .Luvah, definitely packed a secret most entertainers were lacking.

I tried to get more information about her promotion tactics . . you know . . .how she was able to send word out about her production, from show to show . . .and really . .ended up with the same line . . "I just contact my facebook and friends . . .and turn it out" . .I could hear her saying . .I mean . .she'd probably say something like that. I had asked about her twitter account . .but she claimed it was taken down after the loss of a dear good friend. . . So . .where did all those numbers of people come from at the Red Lounge? Luvah, actually, told me she hardly knew half these people. So . . .did she send an ad in craigslist . .or on some bulletin board at work? I mean . . .I was sitting by myself at the lounge . . and suddenly a female began dacing to the beat of the music played over the speakers while groups of people walked in. I was use to sitting by myself and watching a few people buy beer. Instead, the club had become a hot spot for a rap audience . . .So . .if you wanted to put money down on an up and coming performer from Washington, DC . . or any other small district . . who would you pick? The guy who raps for ten minutes to a couple people . . .our someone who brings an entire crowd to an unknown club and creates a party atmosphere. In my opinion, Luvah's audience could grow exponentially . . .With the right radio support and video airplay . ..she could become a house hold name in a year.

I had also asked how Luvah felt about top name female rappers like Lil" Kim . . .and I had alluded to celebrity acts like Foxy Brown . . .and Luvah wasn't really into the Ole' school rap thing . . She considers herself a rapper from a new school of thought. . one that doesn't really mimic women . .but might take after Rick Ross in female form . . .with the edge of a DC. go go lounge singer . . .actually, I should take the go go out of Luvah and keep Rick Ross in . . .She definitely has a commercial vibe going on . . .and with the right kind of financing . .I can see her production taking off. If you're interested in finding new music from the ever growing list of soundcloud talent and reverbnation finesse, check out LuvahAllWild on the google search engine . . .and you'll be entertained. I see a future for Luvah and I'll place all bets on her projects and brand. . .

***Also check out @ohyeahdoee on instagram . . .

(click the url to listen to a souncloud mix tape . . .)

Featured Review
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page